Text_2
 

NC#3 Brunswick Town/Ft Anderson

February 19, 1865, a strong Union Attack forces Confederates to evacuate Fort Anderson

8884 St. Philip's Rd. SE
Winnabow, NC

VISIT WEB SITE

 
 

Coaster Card Answers

Question 1

The fort was originally named “Fort Saint Phillip,” in honor of the colonial Church that is located inside it. On July 1, 1863 General Order No. 33 was issued which instructed that the name be changed to “Fort Anderson” in honor of Brigadier General George Burgwin Anderson, a North Carolina general who was mortally wounded at the Battle of Antietam.

Question 2

In 1862, the Confederacy decided that another fort should be built to defend the port of Wilmington. The fort was built on the location of the old colonial Brunswick Town to aid in the defense of the precious port. Construction on the fort began on March 24, 1862 under the direction of Engineer Cadet Lt. Thomas Rowland. When it was completed the fort was 1.25 miles in length, from the Cape Fear River to Orton Pond.

Question 3

One of the fort’s two Second Pattern Confederate National flags was found by a soldier from the 140th Indiana Volunteer Infantry after Confederates evacuated the fort on the morning of Feb. 19, 1865. The flag was taken to Washington, D.C. where it was presented to Indiana Governor Oliver P. Morton in a ceremony held at the National Hotel on March 18, 1865. President Abraham Lincoln gave a speech while standing over the flag and ironically John Wilkes Booth was in attendance at the ceremony as well.

 
 

More NC C2C Sites You May Be Interested In

 

Attraction

NC#14 Oconaluftee Indian Village

Don’t just read history … experience it!

Learn More

Historic Site

NC#4 CSS Neuse

March 11, 1865: the ironclad CSS Neuse was scuttled.

Learn More

Attraction

NC#13 Unto These Hills

where Cherokee history dramatically comes to life

Learn More