SC#1 South Carolina State House

May 23, 1788, South Carolina becomes the 8th state to join the Union.

1100 Gervais Street
Columbia, SC



Coaster Card Answers

Question 1

A1: The SC Assembly voted in 1786 to move the capital from Charleston to a more central location to improve accessibility. Columbia, located along the Congaree River and near the center of the state became the nation's first planned capital city. The new State House was built quickly and economically which enabled the legislature to begin meeting there as early as 1790.

Question 2

A2: The SC state motto, Dum Spiro Spero means While I breathe I hope.

Question 3

A3: Six bronze stars located on the west and southwest walls of the State House mark sites where shells fired from Union cannons landed during General William T. Sherman's attack in February of 1865.


More SC C2C Sites You May Be Interested In


Attraction Museum

SC#7 Upcountry History Museum

Walk through three centuries of Upcountry SC History

Learn More

Historic Site Museum

SC#12 Santa Elena History Center

America's Untold Story

Learn More

Attraction Museum

SC#3 Wheels of Yesteryear

Muscle at the Beach

Learn More